imageOn November 24, Deutsche Grammophon will release a special, live concert performance on 2DVD entitled, “Sting: A Winter’s Night…Live from Durham Cathedral.” Filmed at the Durham Cathedral near Sting’s hometown of Newcastle-upon-Tyne in Northern England, the DVD features music off his forthcoming album, “If On A Winter’s Night…” in-stores, October 27, as well behind teh scene footage.
Recorded in HD and produced by Universal Music Classical Management & Productions (UMCMP), in association with Thirteen for WNET.ORG, the program will premiere on PBS’s Great Performances series on Thanksgiving night, Thursday, November 26 at 9 p.m. EST (checking local listings). International broadcasts are planned for later this year, with further air dates to be announced locally in each country.
In addition, the DVD programme features a setting of the “Coventry Carol” in which Sting and musicians are joined by the Durham Cathedral Boys’ Choir, as well as songs not included on the European album release – Peter Warlock’s haunting “Bethlehem Down”, a lively arrangement of the traditional song “I Saw Three Ships” and Sting’s own “Ghost Story”.
“Sting: A Winter’s Night…the Documentary” features a behind-the-scenes look at the concert’s genesis, beginning with the album recording sessions at Sting’s home in the Italian countryside, leading up to the final rehearsals at Durham Cathedral. Along the way, Sting revisits places from his childhood and reunites with old friends and band mates, swapping stories and reminiscing.
Featuring both a compelling live concert and evocative film footage, “Sting: A Winter’s Night…” was directed and produced by the Emmy award winning team, Jim Gable and Ann Kim of Graying & Balding, Inc.

The tracklisting for this release is:
Disc 1
1. Intro (Sting/A Winter’s Night Concert)
2. The Snow It Melts The Soonest
3. Gabriel’s Message
4. Soul Cake
5. There Is No Rose Of Such Virtue
6. Lo How A Rose E’er Blooming
7. Christmas At Sea
8. Now Winter Comes Slowly
9. Cold Song
10. The Burning Babe
11. Ghost Story
12. Team Spirit
13. The Hounds Of Winter
14. Cherry Tree Carol
15. Balulalow
16. Bethelehem Down
17. Coventry Carol
18. Lullaby For An Anxious Child
19. I Saw Three Ships
20. You Only Cross My Mind In Winter

Disc 2
1. Intro (Sting/A Winter’s Night Documentary)
2. Italy
3. Newcastle
4. Durham
5. The Ship Inn
6. The Gosforth Hotel
7. Durham Cathedral
8. Christmas At Sea

Source: Decca Label Group

Buy via US | UK | GERMANY

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply